Right, time for May’s Political Compass. It comes at a particularly lovely (if busy – exams) time, as I’ve just…well, read.

I’ve also, if I’ve posted this at the right time, just hit 10,000 posts on twitter! What synchronicity.

So, here goes.

Hmm…. a little more economically left and socially liberal. I seem to drift around a few squares, but I’m starting to find exactly where I lay.

I’d always support my country, whether it was right or wrong.
Disagree -> Strongly Disagree

No one chooses his or her country of birth, so it’s foolish to be proud of it.
Strongly Disagree -> Disagree

Our race has many superior qualities, compared with other races.
Disagree -> Strongly Disagree

These three are causing me quite a lot of trouble. I think it, essentially, stems from the fact that, intuitively, they’re horrendousĀ aggressive-nationalist things to say, but, actually, they’re either a) not that bad or b) have liberal interpretations.

No broadcasting institution, however independent its content, shouldĀ receiveĀ public funding.
Disagree -> Strongly Disagree

I think that an independent media is utterly crucial. Yes, government funding is always a concern. Look at Al Jazeera’s slow drift from critic of Middle Eastern politics to media relations officers for Qatar’s foreign ministry. But, in Ā principle, I’m firmly in favour of the need for an independent broadcaster.

Well, that’s it for another month. Who knows where I’ll be in June!